Petoskey 231.347.4337

Traverse City 231.941.9488


CTAC Youth Art Show 2017 – Traverse City

March 6, 2017 – March 25, 2017 all-day
Crooked Tree Arts Center - Traverse City
322 6th Street
Traverse City, MI 49684

yas-2017-logo-v2-250The 2017 Youth Art Show showcases the artwork of students, Kindergarten through Grade 12, in the Traverse Bay Area Intermediate School District.  The exhibition will be on display March 6-25, 2017.

A reception will be held on Saturday, March 11 from 2:00pm-4:00pm. The reception is free, and all participating artists, teachers, and their guests are welcome, as are CTAC members. Punch and cookies will be served. Awards will be announced at approximately 2:30pm. The reception is generously sponsored and hosted by the Traverse City chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma.

The show includes a juried division for high school students, with cash prizes of $250, $100, and $50 being awarded. Our guest juror is Megan Hildebrandt. She teaches painting and digital arts at Interlochen Arts Academy. Hildebrandt has exhibited nationally and internationally, including: The Painting Center, New American Paintings, The Baltimore Museum of Art, The Museum of Contemporary Craft, Arlington Arts Center, Detroit Contemporary, HEREarts Center, The Cultural Center of Spain, Johns Hopkins Medical Center, the LIVESTRONG Foundation, and the Michigan Institute of Contemporary Art.


Taking first place honors in the high school division was Liam Kaiser, a senior at Traverse City West High School. Second place was awarded to Kylie Christensen, a senior at Cadillac High School. Isaac Castillo, a senior at Frankfort High School, took third place. The high school honorees received cash awards, which were generously sponsored by Al and Susan Cogswell, Beth and Fred Bynum, Stephen and Raenette Palmer, and Alicia Sanford.

The high school division students earning honorable mentions were: Colin Cook, Mesick Consolidated Schools; Amy Green, Frankfort High School; Annalysse Gronda, Traverse City West Senior High; Corey Larson, Frankfort High School; Lukas Pletcher, Frankfort High School; Jaclyn Rogers, Mancelona High School; and Jordan Warner, Forest Area Schools.

Middle school division honorable mentions were: Alli DeVol, Kalkaska Middle School; Andrew H., Traverse City East Middle School; and Grace Lord, Traverse City Christian School.

Download 2017 Youth Art Show program (PDF)


Benzie Central Middle School (Corey Bechler)
Benzie Central High School (Corey Bechler)
Cadillac High School (Beth Stebbins)
Central Grade School (Linda Seibel)
Courtade Elementary School (Adan VanHouten)
Eastern Elementary (Linda Seibel)
Forest Area Schools (Katie Zemstra)
Frankfort High School (Kristine Harvey)
Holy Angels Elementary (Adam VanHouten)
Immaculate Conception Elementary (Adam VanHouten)
Kalkaska Middle School (Jill Vyverberg)
Kingsley High School (Susan Graham)
Lakeland Elementary (Lisa Hockin)
Leland Public School (Nancy Eitzen, Lani Hoenscheid-Smith, and Kat Murphy)
Long Lake Elementary (Anna Culik)
Mancelona High School (Liz Racignol)
Mesick Consolidated Schools (Sarah DeKett)
Mill Creek Elementary (Lisa Hockin)
Old Mission Peninsula Elementary (Linda Seibel)
Silver Lake Elementary (Anna Culik)
St. Francis High School (Alexa Ruelas)
St. Mary’s Lake Leelanau (Lani Hoenscheid-Smith)
TCAPS Montessori at Glenn Loomis (Elizabeth Rudzinski)
Traverse City Christian (Elizabeth Rudzinski)
Traverse City East Middle School (Thomas Adair)
Traverse City High School (Elaine McDaniel)
Traverse City West Middle School (Peter Deyo, Lisa Peoples, and Adam VanHouten)
Traverse City West Senior High School (Melissa Clone and Julie Keck)
Westwoods Elementary (Adam VanHouten)

Download high-res Youth Art Show flyer (PDF)

© 2017 Crooked Tree Arts Center | Designbot Creative